Okir: Analog, 3/23/2013

Okir-Analog_3-23-2013_JVengua
Drawn while listening to Jan Garbarek and the Hilliard Ensemble play two pieces from their album of devotional pieces, Officium Novum: “Ov Zamaranli” and “Surp.” Garbarek was playing saxophones, accompanied by vocals. I decided to use a combination of felt pens and colored pencils. The notes wavered, rose and fell. My hand moved with fluid, looping strokes, and rose upward. A real verticality to the sounds. An emotional piece, sometimes “angular” and sharp, which I could feel through my fingers. I wish I had used slightly more subdued colors, because there was a sense of darkness to the music.

Leave a Reply

